Comfort One Another

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says, “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” The author of the book, St. Paul, tells us that we are to be a comfort to others as we ourselves have received comfort from God.

We were not made to walk through this life alone. There is strength in community – whether that community is online, in person, across state and international boundaries or in your own neighborhood. I have a good friend whom I have known for 13 years. She has been with me through thick and thin, tears of sorrow and tears of joy, anger and happiness. We had dinner last evening. I love this friend and I am always so excited to spend time with her. She has been my consistent community before my divorce, before Cycle Dude, before my current community of faith.

My friend has been a great comfort to me during the rough times in my life. She has shared my joys. I have walked with her through some rough times in her life as well. We have been a comfort to one another. One time, she called me at one o’clock in the morning because her washer hose had broken and she needed someone to help her in her panic. I immediately went to help her. I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Paul gets to one of the important things about life – comforting one another with the grace and peace we experienced from God as we walked through our difficult time. Someday, someone who is experiencing something similar to what you’ve experienced (or are experiencing) will need to know how to get through it. She will need someone to walk with her who knows the dark places, the narrow and rocky path, and the days that feel like always winter. She will need the comforting touch of hand on her shoulder, or the tears of empathy, or the smile that says, “It will be okay”.

Dear one, if you need to be comforted today, let my hand be the one on your shoulder, let me share the tears of empathy, know that you will be okay. I have been through a difficult time, but the grace and peace of God and the love of a dear friend have gotten me through it. Know that you are an amazing woman! Stay tuned . . .

2 thoughts on “Comfort One Another

  1. Reblogged this on Financial Abuse is Domestic Violence and commented:
    Domestic Violence Awareness
    Comfort from Others
    What has helped me to move forward and not lose hope has been comfort from others. I call it Favor from God. Encouragement through a blog, or a kind word in the comments area. Someone you never met in person sends you money to help you buy a small heater. Which I use to warm the one room in the house I spend all my time in. A book comes in the mail to help you understand how to heal your unseen wounds “The Walking Wounded”.
    A therapist sees your tweet about the tremendous fear you have from the sound of a door and reaches out and give you the solution to combat that fear.
    I’ve met so many women who have simply given up on God. I haven’t given up God because I knows He loves me. I also haven’t given up because of the comfort from others.
    Joyce

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, we have to comfort one another. In fact, we can never understand at first why we go through the traumas in this life with heartbreak and suffering… until we are put in a situation to comfort another… then all the pieces to the puzzle just fall into place. I praise God for the friend who has stood by you to comfort you. God sends “angels” in all different ways in our time of need. Many blessings to you and your friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

